top of page
Search
  • Nurse H

Mental Health

I am a huge advocate for mental health, and I wish everyone took this matter seriously. Luckily, I am starting to see a shift in the right direction. Healthcare shouldn’t only be based on medications and invasive procedures. There is so many available options to help heal people and achieve a healthy state of being! We need to stop seeing and referring to patients as their diagnoses or problems. They are more than what brought them into the hospital. I am passionate about taking care of people holistically. A holistic approach in medicine is all around care that encompasses and takes into consideration the body, mind, and spirit. Hospitals can be scary and anxiety filled places for patients. I want to explore anything that I can do to make them more comfortable or reassured in this new environment. The only way to find out what makes your patients happy or puts them at ease, is to ask! Starting conversations can bring about meaningful information to help patients have a better experience. If a patient is feeling down or confused, you can ask them if they are religious. Sometimes a visit from a religious official can lift their spirits and restore their faith. This summer, I offered to take patients to the chapel or just get out of their room for a while. The difference of seeing a change of scenery can really turn their whole day around. My patients were always so grateful to have someone to talk to you, pick out a rosary, religious book, or get a chance to say a prayer. Another useful resource in hospitals is the patient and family library. If I saw a patient constantly in bed or sleeping a lot, I would offer to bring them a cd player or a book to keep their mind off difficult matters. Another great activity is to take patients outside on patios to get some fresh air or spend time with their visitors. I believe that mental and physical health go hand in hand and you can’t maintain one without the other.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page