top of page
Search
  • Nurse H

Thankful

I grew up with an emphasis on the value of manners and respect, and that’s something I want to continue to carry with me throughout my life. I have specific responsibilities as a student nurse intern, and I do my best to fulfill them in a satisfactory way. I don’t help my patients because I expect something in return, and I don’t do things for them just so I get thanked. Fortunately, I have only had positive patient interactions. I don’t mind if my patients don’t always thank me or ask for things nicely. I can only imagine what they are going through and how they are feeling. Patients don’t get much rest in the hospital, and there is constantly someone going in and out of their room. Although, it really humbles you to hear your patients express their appreciation and gratitude towards you. Some of the nicest words ever said to me were by patients or their family members. It is such a sweet feeling when people thank you for the smallest things, but I know that the smallest gestures mean the most to patients and their loved ones. I thank patients in return every chance I get. They are so cooperative and open to a student taking care of them and learning from them. Another big thanks I always like to give is to my coworkers and other people in the hospital. It truly takes a village to make things go smoothly and efficiently. Helping each other can create a better work environment and be more productive. Everyone plays an important role in the hospital, and we rely on each other to do our job the best way we can. Lastly, being around people who are sick or injured can be a reality check for yourself. It’s important to thank the people in your life for being there for you and helping you in ways you need it. Be thankful you are young, healthy, intelligent, and present to contribute your strengths to the world!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page