top of page
Search
  • Nurse H

Self-care is the best care

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

Healthcare providers are healers and their efforts don’t go unnoticed. Unfortunately, sometimes we are so busy taking care of others, we neglect to take of ourselves. If you’ve ever heard the saying that doctors and nurses make bad patients, that is exactly what I’m touching upon in this post. Many times, we know exactly what is good and bad for us, but we don’t give ourselves the same attention and care that we give our patients. I for one am constantly encouraging my patients and my loved ones to adhere to their medication and exercise regime. However, I am at fault when it comes to making sure I take my medications and practicing healthy lifestyle behaviors. It’s a lot easier to instruct someone on how they should change their life, but we should stop and listen to our own advice too. With all the stress and demand that comes with the work, I think healthcare providers push themselves and their bodies to extreme extents. Sometimes they ignore symptoms or issues because they think things could be worse. But we of all people should know that ignoring small signs can result in an even bigger complication.


Self-care is something everyone should practice. If you can incorporate a little form of taking care of yourself every day, your life and mood will improve drastically. It is so important to allow yourself at least 30 minutes for a break. You should take time to go off your unit, grab something to eat or drink, sit down, take a walk, or get some fresh air. The last thing you want to do is burn out when there are so many people relying on you. I’m a fan of the small joys in life. One of my favorite moments preparing for a good shift is my car ride to work. I love driving in general because it brings me peace. The music I play before a work day affects my attitude stepping into work, so I always try to sing along and feel light before my shift. Other things I enjoy doing are face masks, relaxing showers, watching a TV show or movie, and lastly, writing down or sharing my thoughts. Healthcare is such a rewarding profession and will always be here. This is my reminder to everyone to be good to your body and mind and take care of yourself, so you can continue to provide the best care for others.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page