top of page
Search
  • Nurse H

Tired

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

“When I'm tired, I rest. I say, 'I can't be a superwoman today.'”- Jada Pinkett Smith


Working a new job with long hours takes some time to adjust to the hectic schedule. One thing I want to improve on this summer is making sure I rest well. I tend to be a night owl and sometimes, it’s hard for me to fall asleep. But no matter how late I fall asleep, I am always up and going in the morning if I have a responsibility. This was the first time I experienced working night shifts. Preparing for night shifts is just as important as recovering from them. The first two nights I would be good and amped up with energy. As soon as it was time to clock out on my third and final night shift, I was exhausted. The work can be taxing and can affect your mental and physical health. Also, being tired all the time can take away from your family time and social life. After a long day at work, I had to be mindful with how I spoke to my family and friends. I always want to be respectful and thoughtful in my relationships with others. I want to treat my friends and family with the same respect, love, and care that I provide to my patients. My friends and family are my biggest supporters, and I owe them the best version of myself. It was helpful to set limits for myself and let my loved ones know how I was feeling that day. Being open with how much energy I had really made a difference in my communication with others. There were times where I was feeling fatigued and needed some alone time and rest. Everyone was understanding of the new phase of my life. I’m glad I was able to put myself first in some situations and be strict on sleeping and eating well. Having adequate rest and nutrition are two of the best ways to ensure you can be the best nurse and human you can be!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page