top of page
Search
  • Nurse H

With great power, comes great responsibility

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

I am pleasantly surprised to know how much responsibility I have as a student nurse intern. It is a great feeling to be wanted and needed on the units I am working on. Truly feeling a part of the patient experience and the healthcare team makes me feel like I belong. Every day, I feel that my contributions during my shifts are making a difference in my patients’ lives, as well as my coworkers. My job is so meaningful and personal to me. This is the first summer where I have real responsibilities, and it hasn’t been all fun and games, relaxing in the sun! I usually work three 12 hour shifts a week, and on my days off I recover from the long but rewarding work days. Being a busy bee this summer means constantly checking my calendar to see when the next time I was working and when I was free.


One of the best feelings is seeing and showing how much I know and applying what I learned in the classroom and from clinical. As time goes on and with every shift, I can see myself progressing and becoming more efficient than the previous day. Not only am I learning, but I also have the power and gift of educating on what I know to patients and their friends/families. My preceptor encourages me every day and praises me to other staff members and patients. She always says, “Humna makes my job easy!”. This really solidified that I was helping out and making a difference. I was pushed to assume a full six patient assignment and see how a real day as a nurse is like. It’s easy to sit back and watch your preceptor, but to dive straight into the responsibility of a nurse is a rare opportunity as a student. I am responsible for providing care for all my patients, with the help and validation from my nurse. This includes, but is not limited to obtaining vital signs, performing assessments, personal hygiene, turning and repositioning, and documenting throughout the shift. It is an honor to know that people trust me with the great responsibility of putting their care in my hands.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page